Neurology Residency Faculty


The LVHN Neurology faculty has extraordinary skills in all areas of neuroscience. The Chief of the Neurology Service and Chairman of the division is Steven Lewis, MD. Megan Leary, MD, is the Program Director for the Neurology Residency, and Jay Varrato, DO, is the Director for the University of South Florida Medical School Teaching Program.

You can learn more about the faculty by visiting LVPG Neurology–1250 Cedar Crest (under Our Medical Staff).

Program Director Megan C. Leary, MD

Dr. Leary completed her internship at Georgetown University School of Medicine and her neurology training at University of California, Los Angeles. She then completed a stroke and cerebrovascular neurology fellowship from 2000-2002. Dr. Leary is board-certified in both neurology and vascular neurology. From 2002-2006, she was affiliated with Harvard Medical School/Beth Israel Deaconess Department of Neurology, and was the Program Director for the Stroke and Cerebrovascular Disease Fellowship Program during that time. From 2006-present, she has functioned as a consultant for Harvard Clinical Research Institute (HCRI), maintaining a position on HCRIs Clinical Events Committee, adjudicating ongoing clinical trial data. She also is a consulting neurologist for Faculty of 100 Medicine, Cerebrovascular Diseases Section, reviewing current published clinical trial articles and posting editorial reviews. Dr. Leary joined the LVHN Neurology faculty in 2013 and is active in a variety of professional associations such as the American Academy of Neurology, American Stroke Association and the American Heart Association.

Steven Lewis, MD

Chief of Neurology Steven L. Lewis, MD

Dr. Lewis graduated from Yale University with a bachelor’s degree in molecular biochemistry and biophysics. He received his medical education at Stanford University School of Medicine, and completed his medical internship and neurology residency at University of Chicago. As of August 2017, Dr. Lewis became the Chief of Neurology at Lehigh Valley Health Network (LVHN). Prior to joining LVHN, Dr. Lewis was professor of neurological sciences at Rush University Medical Center in Chicago, where he served as Associate Chairman of the department, Head of the Section of General Neurology, and Director of the Neurology Residency Training Program for more than 15 years.

Dr. Lewis is the Editor-in-Chief of Continuum: Lifelong Learning in Neurology, the official CME journal of the American Academy of Neurology (AAN), as well as the editor of World Neurology, the official newsletter of the World Federation of Neurology (WFN). He is a Neurology Director of the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology (ABPN). In addition, Dr. Lewis is the current Chair of the Education Committee of the WFN and Elected Trustee of the WFN. Dr. Lewis was also the Teaching Course Chair for the World Congress of Neurology held in Dubai, United Arab Emirates in 2019. He is immediate Past Chair of the Examination Subcommittee of the AAN, and a Past Chair of the A.B. Baker Section of Neurologic Educators for the AAN.

Dr. Lewis was Neurology Book Editor for the Medical Knowledge and Self-Assessment Programs (MKSAP 13 and 14) for the American College of Physicians, and is the author of the book Field Guide to the Neurologic Examination, editor of the book Neurological Disorders Due to Systemic Disease, and co-editor of the book Neurology for the Non-Neurologist.

His major clinical and academic interests are neurologic education, general clinical neurology, transient global amnesia, and the neurology of systemic disease.

Contact us

If you have any additional, unanswered questions, please contact Neurology Residency Program Coordinator Mark Bolden at 484-862-3188 or via email, below.

Email us

Additional information

For FAQs, travel, directions and more, visit Residency and Fellowship Opportunities.

Learn more